History of Eastwell
Eastwell and the surrounding area has a rich and fascinating history.
Eastwell History Group runs a programme of talks and presentations about the people who lived there and the events that shaped its story. 60 years ago Eastwell was surrounded by ironstone quarries. One of the locomotives used for hauling the ore, Lord Granby, has been returned to the village and is being restored by the Group.
The original Village Hall - known as the Village Institute - was built just after the First World War in 1919. It was a timber building and provided a centre for the social life of the village for over 50 years. Since then the hall has seen many events and developments, enjoying mixed fortunes along the way.